Please note, our Visitor Centre is closed, but New Lanark is a fantastic destination for a socially distant day out. Our walkways, Clearburn Picnic Area & Playpark, Café and Hotel are all open, with revised procedures in place to ensure staff and visitor safety.

  • A UNESCO World Heritage Site

    Explore the facinating history of New Lanark

New Lanark's Lost Buildings

For a variety of reasons, not all of the buildings which once formed part of New Lanark village can be seen today. Some, like Mill 4, were destroyed by fire, others were removed as their purpose became redundant and some were in such a poor condition that they simply could not be saved. Like many historic sites, New Lanark Trust was faced with the issue of how far back to take restoration. In most cases, the decision has been taken not to rebuild but to interpret these lost buildings in an unobtrusive way. More information on the lost buildings of New Lanark can be found in the New Lanark Archive.

You can also explore the Lost Buildings below, or find out more about Buildings at New Lanark that still stand today

The Boiler Houses & Chimney

The 2 large boiler houses and massive chimney which sat in what is now the Village Square were used to power the steam engine added to the Institute in the 1880s. They dominated views of the village until around 1960...

More Info

The Waterman's Cottage

The Waterman's Cottage was located at the side of the Mill Lade, opposite the School for Children. The Waterman would have been responsible for looking after the Mill Lade and for the control of the Sluice Gates. It...

More Info

The Stables

Horse-drawn carts were used to transport raw cotton bales to New Lanark until the start of the 20th century. Even when these were replaced by a steam-driven lorry, horses and carts still ferried goods around the mill...

More Info

The Time Office

The Time Office was built by the Birkmyres in the 1880s to serve as the administrative offices of the Gourock Ropework Company in New Lanark. It was called the Time Office because all the workers had to "clock in". It...

More Info

Mill 4

Built between 1791 and 1793 in the same style as the existing mills, Mill 4 was destroyed by fire on 20th February 1883 and never rebuilt. The site was cleared and interpreted in 1990 to show the layout of the mill and...

More Info

Mantilla Row

Mantilla Row was constructed c.1790 as a 3 unit terrace, two storeys high with a basement. Settlement of the foundations meant that it was shored up in 1977 but eventually demolished in 1988 as its collapse may have...

More Info

Call Us on +44(0)1555 661 345

Our friendly team will be happy to talk

Contact Us

Fill in our quick contact form and we'll get right back to you

Visit Us

New Lanark Mill Hotel
New Lanark World Heritage Site New Lanark
ML11 9DB

Email Us

trust@newlanark.org

Displaying search results for "".
Found pages.