• A UNESCO World Heritage Site

    Explore the facinating history of New Lanark

The Time Office was built by the Birkmyres in the 1880s to serve as the administrative offices of the Gourock Ropework Company in New Lanark. It was called the Time Office because all the workers had to "clock in". It replaced the Counting House as the main administrative offices of the mill company. In 1985 it was demolished as part of the process of restoring the entrance to the mill area to the original layout of the early 19th century. The removal of this late addition allowed the reinstatement of the mill gates, as they can be seen today.

Back to all Lost Buildings

Call Us on +44(0)1555 661 345

Our friendly team will be happy to talk

Contact Us

Fill in our quick contact form and we'll get right back to you

Visit Us

New Lanark Mill Hotel
New Lanark World Heritage Site New Lanark
ML11 9DB

Email Us

trust@newlanark.org

Displaying search results for "".
Found pages.