• A UNESCO World Heritage Site

    Explore the facinating history of New Lanark

Horse-drawn carts were used to transport raw cotton bales to New Lanark until the start of the 20th century. Even when these were replaced by a steam-driven lorry, horses and carts still ferried goods around the mill area. This meant that New Lanark had to have a stable block to house and care for the horses. The stables were located beside Mill 1, below Double Row and can be seen in the images painted by John Winning as well as in mid-20th century aerial views of the village. They stable block was demolished in the 1960s when lorries finally replaced horse and carts and to make way for new weaving sheds. The New Lanark Archive contains a cast-iron horse from the front door of the stables and also a horse-shoe which was recovered during the restoration of Mill 1.

Back to all Lost Buildings

Call Us on +44(0)1555 661 345

Our friendly team will be happy to talk

Contact Us

Fill in our quick contact form and we'll get right back to you

Visit Us

New Lanark Mill Hotel
New Lanark World Heritage Site New Lanark
ML11 9DB

Email Us

trust@newlanark.org

Displaying search results for "".
Found pages.